Ed Sheeran Accepts Justin Bieber's 'Love Yourself' Win For Best Lyrics at #iHeartAwards

INGLEWOOD, CA - MARCH 05:  Songwriters Ed Sheeran (L) and Benny Blanco accept Best Lyrics for 'Love Yourself' (song by Justin Bieber) onstage at the 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards which broadcast live on Turner's TBS, TNT, and truTV at The Forum on March 5

Justin Bieber's Purpose single "Love Yourself" was presented with the best lyrics of the year accolade at the iHeartRadio Music Awards Sunday night.

Bieber was unable to attend the event, but his friend Ed Sheeran, who cowrote the song, accepted the award on his behalf. "Me and [Benny Blanco] started this song in the back of a tour bus and it has gone on to do a lot more than we thought it would," Sheeran said. Blanco, who joined Sheeran on stage, added: "I have to pee."

JB bested nine other songs in the socially-charged category including "Closer" by The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey, "Scars To Your Beautiful" by Alessia Cara, "Send My Love (To Your New Lover)" by Adele, "Too Good" by Drake and Rihanna, and others.

The 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards broadcast live from the Forum in Inglewood, California on Sunday (March 5). The ceremony, hosted by Ryan Seacrest, also saw performances by Sheeran Bruno Mars, Big Sean, Shawn Mendes, Noah Cyrus, show opener Katy Perry, and others.

For more on our iHeartRadio Music Awards, including an up-to-date list of winners and some of the biggest moments from the night, click here.

Photo: Getty Images

outbrain pixel