Find Station

Who Is Nominated for the Songwriters Hall of Fame?

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced the nominees for its 2020 class. Since their rules state artists and writers are eligible for instatement 20 years after penning their first hit several of the candidates are artists who hit their stride right around the dawn of the millennium.

The Neptunes, a.k.a. Pharrell and Chad Hugo are nominated, as is Mariah Carey, Gloria Estefan and Outkast.

If either the Neptunes or Outkast make the final cut, they will be in rare company. Jay-Z, Jermaine Dupri and Missy Elliott are the only other hip-hop artists in the Hall.

Now it’s up to the Hall’s members to decide which nominees become inductees and it’s pretty stiff competition.

Only three performing songwriters and three non-performing songwriters will be chosen out of twenty-four nominees and honored at an awards gala in June.

See the full list of nominees here.

Photo: Getty Images